History of the Village Hall
Skirmett Village Hall is situated on the site of a cottage which was sold to Reverend Matthew Wilks in 1806. A Chapel was subsequently built and is identified as the Congregational Chapel on a 1897 map. In 1899 the chapel was given to the Ecclesiastical Trust and became known as the ‘Parish Rooms’ and was managed by Trustees for a variety of church, social and charitable functions. Records of minutes date back to 1952 and provide a fascinating view of functions held and funds raised.
In the 1990s the Charity Commission determined that the provisions of the 1899 Trust Deed were not exclusively charitable and needed to be amended. In April 1998 a new Deed was drawn up encompassing the types of current day functions being held in the hall.
The 21st Century has provided changing lifestyles and greater mobility and the Village Hall is now used by many people within Skirmett as well as within the whole of the Hambleden Valley. Whist drives, bingo and concerts have been replaced with Pilates, Yoga, dancing, wine tastings, quiz nights, parties and art shows. The ever popular Christmas party draws the villagers together and helps foster the community spirit for young and old.